Good question. The answer is maybe. Keep in mind that a company can voluntarily label its product gluten-free according to new FDA guidelines, but is not required to do so. If it’s not labeled gluten-free, one of the following reasons may apply:
Reason #1: While all of the ingredients in the product are gluten-free according to Mother Nature, if the product is shared with equipment that processes wheat or gluten, it could be cross contaminated and yield a gluten ppm test result that is more than
20 ppm. This would prohibit the company from labeling the product as gluten-free. This measure is in place to protect you, because a higher-than-acceptable ppm could make you ill. And even though some companies test their products for gluten ppm and consistently come underneath 20 ppm, they may not want to take the risk. Choosing not to label their product as gluten-free will limit their liability despite the possible drawback of fewer sales.
Reason #2: The company has not yet sold all of its old, outdated packaging that is not labeled gluten-free, and until the old inventory is sold, you won’t see their newly gluten-free label on the shelves. If it’s a product you really want to try but are unsure, keep watching the packaging or call the manufacturer for a confirmation.
Reason #3: The product could be a singular ingredient that is inherently gluten-free such as milk, eggs, pure butter, or canned green beans in water. But according to new labeling regulations, a company would be “misbranding” their product by labeling it gluten-free. Know your singular, inherently gluten-free foods so you don’t have to worry about reading labels and proceed quicker to checkout!