You need to watch out for the beverages in coffee shops. Fresh ground coffee beans that don’t have flavor coatings are naturally gluten-free, but you need to watch out for anything added to or already included in a beverage at a coffee shop. In today’s coffee loving world, lengthy beverage menus and near-infinite combinations for designing your personalized perk make avoiding gluten tricky and can be a game of coffee roulette if you’re not careful.
You will need to consider every ingredient that is added to your coffee beverage. These ingredients include but are not limited to syrup for flavoring, thickening agents used, ingredients to enhance froth, and whipped cream and non-dairy substitutes. You also need to check the gluten-free status of rice and soy milk, some brands will use barley enzymes in the manufacturing process. Each of these ingredients has the potential for hidden gluten. Instead of researching each ingredient in your drink with a line of customers behind you, ask the barista if they have suggestions for gluten-free beverages. At the very least, they should be able to tell you what ingredients to avoid and then you can design your beverage from there. But if they can’t provide the information you need, you’re better off ordering a simple beverage you know is gluten-free. Consider calling or e-mailing the corporate headquarters or individual owner to inquire about each ingredient so you’ll know what you can have on your next visit.
Typically, regular coffee and espresso without flavorings, lattes and cappuccinos without flavorings, Americano coffee, and regular iced tea without flavorings are all gluten-free.