Until recently, it’s been recommended for someone with celiac disease and gluten intolerance to avoid oats as strictly as they would wheat, barley, and rye. But some confusion still lingers, while you will still find oats on some lists of ingredients to avoid, you won’t find them on others. This discrepancy raises serious concerns. For those not familiar with a gluten-free diet, the story on oats, the finer aspects of gluten-free lingo, and gluten-free grocery shopping, this can be potentially dangerous.
First, oats do not contain the toxic gluten protein per se. But, despite being scientifically gluten-free from Mother Nature’s perspective, the primary reason why oats have been and continue to be blacklisted is because of the issue of cross-contamination with wheat in both agriculture and manufacturing processes. Most oats on the market are not 100 percent gluten-free, and are therefore unsafe for a gluten-free diet. It’s extremely important to avoid popular oat brands on supermarket shelves as well as products containing oats that do not designate them as pure, gluten-free oats because of the strong likelihood of cross-contamination.
Until recently there has not been a pure, gluten-free oats product on the market for consumers to buy. However, pure, uncontaminated oats are now available. But the question is often asked: are pure, uncontaminated, gluten-free oats safe for the celiac diet?