A gluten-free diet is unique because it introduces you to a broad spectrum of other ingredients, many of which you may never have tried before such as amaranth, buckwheat, millet, quinoa, sorghum, and teff. These are key staples in gluten-free cuisine beyond rice, corn and potatoes, and they are being used more extensively as the gluten-free diet continues to gain prominence and companies develop new gluten-free products. But these ingredients are often new nutritional components to someone embarking upon a gluten-free diet, and it’s within the realm of possibility you could be sensitive to one of these new additions.
When cooking and baking the gluten-free way, you naturally become more adventurous and experimental. And with gluten off the radar as a possible culprit, you have a clean slate to clearly determine how other ingredients affect you. For example, flours made from tree nuts are incorporated into gluten-free products and baking. If you have a tree nut allergy you may be sensitive to flour derived from a tree nut. Teff, a tiny nutritious grain native to northern Africa, contains natural yeast and if you’re sensitive to yeast, you may have a reaction to teff.
Being on a gluten-free diet naturally makes you more aware of your body and how you react to different foods. Simply monitor how you feel after eating ingredients you have never tried before, make any connections you can, and avoid anything you don’t feel is right for you.