While going gluten-free doesn’t mean entertainment-free, the answer to this question may not be all that entertaining to you. Your chances of finding gluten-free foods at places such as movie theaters, amusement parks, sports arenas, concert halls, park concerts, theatres, shopping malls, video arcades, etc. are extremely slim. Plus, these events are not the best places to read ingredient labels on boxes from the candy case or to ask the cashier to investigate ingredients for you with lines of people behind you.
The majority of foods sold at these venues have gluten. You’ll typically find pretzels, hot dogs, hamburgers, corn dogs, ice cream cones, pizza, burritos, and similarly unsuitable foods. But even if a hamburger without the bun is all you can eat, the cross-contact issue prevalent at these venues should be enough to discourage you from making the purchase. Even foods that appear as though they would be gluten-free should raise your eyebrows.
Such decoy foods can include corn chips (could have shared oil used to fry gluten-based products), popcorn (could have been seasoned with a butter flavored seasoning that uses wheat flour as a filler or to prevent clumping), ice cream (could have wheat-based ingredients for thickeners or candy ingredients like cookie chunks), or corn dogs (will have a breading that contains wheat flour, not to mention hidden fillers in the meat). And many candy bars have gluten. Unless you’ve done your investigative work beforehand and know what’s gluten-free, try to eat a good meal prior to going to the event and consider bringing some of your own gluten-free snacks to enjoy.