Always read the labels for gluten-free designation on these beverage products, and consider checking with the manufacturer if you are unsure. The manufacturing process of these beverages may include barley protein enzymes, which contain gluten, but you won’t usually know because the ingredient list generally doesn’t include these enzymes.
Even though this kind of beverage may appear to be gluten-free on the package, the process by which it’s made can turn the tables on you. However, the residual gluten left behind by the enzymes after manufacturing may test at a low enough level that is suitable for you. Check with your physician on which dairy-free beverages will be suitable for your diet. Silk Soymilk and Taste the Dream offer gluten-free soy and rice beverages.