When you read a list of ingredients, you obviously start with the first on the list and work your way down to the very last ingredient. Keep in mind that you must make sure that every single ingredient on the list is gluten-free before you can purchase it. It’s easy to gloss over words and miss something, but with label reading, you have to be very accurate or you run the risk of purchasing something you can’t eat.
Start at the beginning of the list and look for any glutencontaining ingredients that should be avoided. Take the lists in Chapter Three to the grocery store with you for reference until you memorize the offenders. You will tend to look first for flour; you can be sure that “flour” is wheat flour. No gluten-free product manufacturer will list a gluten-free flour that way. They will be very specific, listing its full name such as brown rice flour, white rice flour, sorghum flour, quinoa flour or amaranth flour. If you see simply “flour,” you can put it back on the shelf immediately. If you see “enriched” or “white flour” you can put it back. You can’t assume “white flour” is “white rice flour” and they didn’t put the “rice” in. Put it back!
If you don’t see wheat, rye, barley, or oats, you still don’t have clearance. If you see any of the wheat costume names such as “spelt,” “bran” or “duram” put it back. If you don’t, proceed with caution. After you have searched for the obvious culprits and don’t find any, you’ve entered hidden gluten territory now. You will be looking for words such as malt, barley malt, wheat starch, oat flour, or soy sauce.
If after you read the full list, ingredient by ingredient, and do not see anything prohibited, do you have clearance? Not yet.