Again, names can be deceiving. Despite the “wheat” in its name, buckwheat is naturally gluten-free. Kasha is toasted whole-grain buckwheat, and buckwheat flour is often used in gluten-free baking. But now that you know buckwheat is gluten-free, don’t become too smug at your discovery. There’s a trap door you must avoid. For example, can you eat buckwheat pancakes? It depends. Investigate further because most buckwheat pancake mixes and menu items are made with wheat flour as the main ingredient. Buckwheat flour is merely added to impart its unique flavor.
See how tricky this can be. In your hunt for gluten, be aware of names and circumstances that can be potentially dangerous.