Spelt is like a Halloween costume at a gluten-free party. It can appear to be gluten-free because it’s sometimes inappropriately marketed as being safe for those with wheat intolerances. But on a closer look it’s a gluten culprit. Spelt is a grain from an ancient wheat family of southern Europe and shares similar performance characteristics with wheat. While it does not have as much gluten parts per million as wheat, gluten is gluten regardless of the amount and spelt must be avoided on a strict celiac/gluten-free diet.
You may find spelt bread and other baked goods made with spelt flour labeled (inaccurately!) as wheat-free or even gluten-free, but don’t let the labeling fool you. Spelt is a classic example of the necessity to know your gluten-ingredients and the many undercover names for gluten.