When you discover that certain packages of potato chips contain wheat or can’t be eaten because of cross-contamination issues at the manufacturing facility, you may not only be surprised, you may fear that you won’t be able to enjoy this favorite snack food again. But for gluten intolerant potato chip lovers, there are options if you’re willing to search for them. Read labels carefully to ensure the product is gluten-free and meets your approval from a gluten-free manufacturing perspective. You may have to call the manufacturer to inquire. And remember that one or more “flavors” in a company’s product may be gluten-free, while others may not be. Those with barbeque seasoning and other flavors, for example, are immediate suspects for gluten.
There are many gluten-free potato chips that are privately labeled for individual stores. Below is a sampling of brands that have gluten-free potato chips:
Their website posts a list of their products that do not contain gluten.
Original Potato Chips
The Cape Cod Potato Chip Company
All flavors except Beachside Barbeque