Wheat is the largest gluten family and comes in various disguises. This is where avoiding gluten can get tricky and mistake-prone if you’re not at the top of your gluten-game. For example, semolina pasta is wheat pasta. In order to accurately maneuver around gluten, you need to know the variety of wheat-family costumes so you won’t inadvertently open the door and welcome them into your gluten-free party.
The following list outlines various wheat-based names. Try to memorize these names because it will be helpful throughout your gluten-free living adventure.
Costume Name: See-Through Hints:
Atta Wheat-based / Indian flat bread
Bran All-Bran Cereal
Bulgur Often used to make tabbouleh
Dinkle Another name for spelt Durum Wheat, read pasta labels! Couscous Made from semolina
Einkorn Marketed as corn or maize, German wheat
Emmer Another name for durum
Farina Creamy hot wheat cereal; Malt-O-Meal
Farro Another name for spelt
FU Made from wheat, typically Asian
Graham Graham crackers and crust
Kamut Larger than wheat kernels
Matza, Matzo, Matzah Traditional Jewish bread
MIR Cross between wheat and rye Semolina Wheat, read pasta labels! Seitan Asian and vegetarian cuisine
Spelt Often inappropriately labeled as wheatfree
Triticale Hybrid of wheat and rye
Always watch for anything with “wheat” in front of it: wheat berries, wheat germ, wheat nut, wheat starch, and even wheat grass. The jury is still out on whether or not wheat grass is suitable for the gluten-free diet, particularly due to a possible cross-contamination issue in growing and harvesting. Do your research and consult with a physician or nutritionist before trying.