Civilizations around the world have developed and thrived on gluten-free grains and starches and have not made wheat the most pivotal ingredient in their diet, as North America and other countries have. So, it can be done; in fact, you’ll probably discover and incorporate several foods you never have eaten before because you learned about them on the gluten-free diet. Get ready, your thinking is about to change, which is one requirement for living gluten-free.
First, let’s look at what you can have. Mathematically speaking, you have more gluten-free staple options to choose from than you have gluten-based options.
Beans (Legumes) Buckwheat
Corn Garfava Job’s tears Millet Montina Nut Flours Potato Quinoa Ragi
Rice Soy Sorghum Tapioca Taro
Now, let’s look at what is NOT permitted on a gluten-free diet:
Triticale (Hybrid of wheat and rye) Contaminated oats
As you can see, there are considerably more gluten-free options. But because gluten-grains and their derived products are so prevalent in the American diet, you will spend a considerable amount of time trying to navigate your way around gluten. Once you get a good feel for what you must avoid, you can spread your wings and focus on what you can have, using the list of permitted grains and starches as a guide.